Stagecraft Awards Nominations Announced; Usha Uthup at the Helm of Affairs



Award ceremonies in which the actors, directors, actresses, musicians are given awards are very common. But an award ceremony where the unsung heroes like the light men or the event managers will be given awards is a rare occasion indeed. The Stagecraft Awards conceptualized by eminent singer Usha Uthup will be doing exactly this to pay respect to the unsung heroes of the industry. Prosenjit Chatterjee who has been declared the face of Stagecraft Foundation was present at the announcement of the nomination categories for the forthcoming Stagecraft Awards 2014. Some of the other personalities who were also present at the announcement event include Usha Uthup, Lopamudra, Surojit, Raja Narayan Deb, Anik Dutta and others.


Some of the nomination categories are Best event manager, Best event set designers and executor, Best sound and light company, Best sound engineer, Best light designer, Best choreographer, Best makeup and others. There will also be the Hall of Fame award.


“There are numerous award ceremonies wherein the actors and other performers get all the attention as well as recognition. But nobody thinks about the people who make them look and feel good. Efforts like this are bound to come from Usha di. However no such idea came to me in all these years about such an award ceremony, which is strange. This is a fantastic effort to recognize and reward these talented individuals. I am very happy to be a part of this initiative” said Prasenjit Chatterjee when speaking with Sholoana Bangaliana.


Usha Uthup justified the decision of making Prasenjit the face of this award. She said “Prasenjit has been championing the cause of the technicians for many years and it is very obvious to make him the face of the awards for the technicians and the unsung heroes”.

Some of the jury members of this award ceremony include Mamata Shankar, Jimmy Tangree, Lopamudra, Abhishek Dutta, Biswajit Chakaborty, Anik Datta, Madhu Mukherjee, Sujoy Kutti. The jury board is chaired by Usha Uthup.


Some of the performances of the evening will include a live unplugged performance by Arijit Singh, awesome threesome (Lopamudra, Subhamita and Joy Sarkar), Out of the band box and many others.

The anthem song of the event has been directed and composed by Raja Narayan Deb and the lyrics have been penned down by Srijato. The anthem has been sung by Usha Uthup, Zeenia, Somlata, Sapthak, Lopamudra, Surojit and Sidhu.

The event will take place on the 16th of August.

Priyanka Dutta


Please enter your name here
Please enter your comment!