Tata Steel Kolkata 25K winners Nitender Singh Rawat and Kavita Raut Appreciative of the Arrangements; Celebrities Take Active Part



The cold could not dampen the spirit of 6588 runners who made it to Red Road to participate in the inaugural Tata Steel Kolkata (TSK) 25K in the men and women’s categories. Apart from the runners, the face of the event, Jeet along with Tota Roy Chowdhury, Abir Chatterjee, Arjun Chakraborty, Nusrat Jahan, Moubani Sorcar, Raj Chakraborty along with Cricketers Laxmi Ratan Shukla and Ashok Dinda stepped out in the morning chill to cheer runners. Actor Rahul Bose who is a fitness enthusiast was seen taking part in the run too.


Indian elite athletes, Nitender Singh Rawat and Kavita Raut won the inaugural Tata Steel Kolkata (TSK) 25K, in the men and women’s categories respectively. Nitender clocked 01:19:39 to win his first title in the City of Joy and Kavita stopped the clock at 01:33:39 in the women’s category.

On winning the inaugural edition, Nitender Singh Rawat, said, “This is my first time in the 25K race. Earlier I had taken part in the 21K race. However this experience was memorable. My coach Mr. Surinder Singh is my mentor and guide and I will like to follow his footsteps. The next year I will be participating in the full marathon. I wish to take part in the Full 42k in the Mumbai Marathon 2016 with an eye for the 2016 Olympics.”


Winner in the women’s category, Kavita Raut, said, “The arrangements at the race impressed me and I thank the organizers for such great organization. The weather, the support from the crowd and the route was immensely favorable. I had run for 21K before but this is my first time in 25 K race. This race prepared me for the 2016 Standard Chartered Mumbai Marathon.”


 A total of 6,588 plus runners participated in the inaugural edition of the Tata Steel Kolkata 25K across different categories. Some of the categories and the number of participants include 857 in the 25K, 1515 in the Open 10K, 3534 in the Ananda Run, 2622 in the Senior Citizen and 419 in Champions with disability.

The top three Elite athletes in the 25K category won Rs. 2, 50, 000, Rs. 1,75,000 , Rs. 1,00,000 respectively.

Priyanka Dutta

Our Twitter Handle: @Sholoana1
Google+ ID: +Sholoana


Please enter your name here
Please enter your comment!