21st Kolkata International Film Festival Announced; The Festival to be Competitive this Year too



In the august presence of Atri Bhattacharya, Principal Secretary, Department of Information & Cultural Affairs Government of West Bengal, Director General, Kolkata International Film Festival, Arindam Sil , Chairman , Selection Committee, Short &  Documentary Film section, Ranjit Mallick , Chairman , Kolkata Chalachitra Utsav, Moon Moon Sen, Member General, Kolkata Chalachitra Utsav, Haranath Chakaraborty and Yadab Mondal, Special Secretary to the Government of West Bengal and Chief Executive officer, Nandan and Director, Kolkata International Film Festival, the press conference of the upcoming 21st Kolkata International Film Festival took place at Nandan.


Amitabh Bachchan, Vidya Balan, Jaya Bachchan will be present at the inaugural event which will take place at Netaji Indoor Stadium on 14th November.

The press conference also saw the unveiling of the festival t-shirt, festival poster and trophy of Royal Bengal Tiger Awards. This is the second time that the Kolkata International Film Festival is a competitive international film festival. The Royal Bengal Trophy will be awarded to the Best Film and the Best Director. This segment focuses mainly on films directed by women directors.


Sharmila Tagore is the Chairperson of the Jury this year. The festival has 149 films by 137 directors from 61 countries and these will be screened at twelve venues across the city over eight days. Of these twenty three films are Indian films.


The musical theme for this year’s festival reflects the interaction between Kolkata and the world. Each musical phrase is started by an Indian instrument and echoed by world instruments in the “Sawaal Jawaab” tradition.

The 21st Kolkata International Film Festival will begin from 14th and continue till the 21st of November 2015.

Priyanka Dutta

Our Twitter Handle: @Sholoana1
Google+ ID: +Sholoana


Please enter your name here
Please enter your comment!