Kolkata Celebrities Grace the Inaugural Edition of Darts Premier League (DPL)



National Darts Academy in association with All India Darts Association announced the inaugural edition of Darts Premier League at an event held at The Saturday Club. Mr. Prasanta Saha (DPL and Secretary General, All India Darts Association, Boria Majumdar, the team owners along with the brand ambassadors of the team namely Ananya Chatterjee, Arunima Ghosh, Gargi Roychowdhury, Ushashie Chakraborty, Sampurna Lahiri, Sohini Sarkar, Parijat Chakraborty and Rachel White.

Darts Premier League will be played among nine teams in a round robin format. Each team will consist of nine players (male and female included). Out of these nine players, one will be the marquee player. The players of each team will be selected via auction.


The celebrity brand ambassadors of each team are as follows- Rituparna Sengupta for Shining Stars, Tanushree Chakraborty for Aauris Strikers, Ananya Chatterjee for Apollo Arrows, Arunima Ghosh for Tunsten Creed, Gargi Roychoudhury for Sharp Shooters, Ushashie Chakraborty for Warriors, Rachel White for Eklavya, Sampurna Lahiri for Arrow Heads and Sohini Sarkar for Magma Yoddha.

Dr. Rupali Basu, Apollo Hospitals who is the owner of Apollo Arrows said “Our team is named Apollo Arrows. We like to aim for the target and in a similar way we like to target the disease we want to cure at Apollo. Our team ambassador is Ananya who has done some really fantastic films. She is also punctual just like us. With this league, more people will come to know about this inexpensive game which can be played to get rid of stress”.


Parijat Chakraborty who has been associated with this game since 2012 said that this was sort of a home coming for her. “I have been associated with this game when no one else was even part of it. It feels great to see co-artists and even senior actresses coming and joining this initiative” said the pretty actress.

Actress Sohini Sarkar who is all geared up for the release of her next film Cinemawala was also present at the occasion. “Everyone is going crazy about IPL. Now even I can say that I am part of DPL. I have played darts in my own way for a very long time. I am not aware of the rules I just play it in my own way”.


Gargi Roychowdhury who had never played darts before was super excited to be part of such a unique initiative. “We all need calculation in mathematics, in setting up aims in life or for playing darts. Concentration is also required for reaching the aim. I find this very interesting. I sincerely hope that my team Sharp Shooters will win” said the actress with a smile.

The winning team will be awarded a trophy and an amount of six lakh rupees. The runners up will get four lakh rupees and a trophy.

The Players’Auction will take place on 12th May at CCFC. DPL will be held from 5th to 11th June at CCFC, The Saturday Club and The Bengal Club.

Priyanka Dutta

Connect with us on Facebook at: https://www.facebook.com/sholoanabangaliana?ref=hl

Our You Tube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC2nKhJo7Qd_riZIKxRO_RoA

Our Twitter Handle: @Sholoana1

Google+ ID: +Sholoana




Please enter your name here
Please enter your comment!