42nd Annual Convocation of Rabindra Bharati University; D.Litt to be Conferred on Eminent Dignitaries



The 42nd Annual Convocation of Rabindra Bharati University will be held on May 8, 2017 at 10 am at the University’s Jorasanko Thakurbari campus at 6/4 Dwarakanath Tagore Lane, Kolkata 700007. This was announced by Prof. Sabyasachi Basu Ray Chaudhury, Vice Chancellor at a press conference.

His Excellency, the Governor of West Bengal, and also Hon’ble Chancellor of the University, Shri Kesari Nath Tripathi will preside over the Convocation. The Guest-in-Chief of the Convocation will be Professor V. S. Chauhan, eminent scientist, Chairman, NAAC, and Member, UGC, who will also deliver the Convocation address.

The Vice Chancellor announced that the D. Litt. (honoris causa) will be conferred on Shri Amol Palekar, eminent actor, Smt. Nirmala Mishra, eminent singer and Shri Sirshendu Mukhopadhyay, eminent Bengali author, and that the West Bengal State Akademi of Dance Drama Music and Visual Arts Awards will be conferred on Professor K. Jatindra Singh, eminent danseuse, Professor Ashok Mukhopadhyay, eminent theatre personality, and Professor Isha Mahammad, eminent painter. He added that the Acharya Dinesh Chandra Sen Memorial Award in folk-lore research will be conferred on Dr. Sabita Ranjan Sarkar.

Seventy scholars will be awarded their Ph.D. degrees, and fifty scholars will be receiving their M.Phil degree at this Annual Convocation.

Priyanka Dutta

Connect with us on Facebook at: https://www.facebook.com/sholoanabangaliana?ref=hl

Our You Tube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC2nKhJo7Qd_riZIKxRO_RoA

Our Twitter Handle: @Sholoana1

Google+ ID: +Sholoana


Please enter your name here
Please enter your comment!