Tag: Ajoy-Chakraborty

Pepsi IPL 2015 Kick Starts with Grand Opening Ceremony in Kolkata; KKR adds to the Thrill by winning First Home Match


Rain, Rain go to Spain, Because IPL is here again!! Many seated in the audience may have been saying this in their hearts when Nature tried to play spoilsport during the opening ceremony of the Indian Premiere League. However, owed to the high spirits of the audience and performers alike, the IPL opening ceremony took off with a blast.


The IPL opening ceremony started about one and a half hours after the allotted time. The moment the event started, thirty thousand audiences applauded and cheered, proving their support for the two month long cricket tournament.


The opening ceremony had a high dose of Bollywood glitz and glamour. Shahid Kapoor, Pritam, Saif Ali Khan, Farhan Akhtar all were present at the venue to entertain the audiences and set the mood for the opening match.


Two performances drew the biggest applause from the audience. One was the performance of the handsome hunk Hrithik Roshan to “Ek pal ka jeena” from his film Kaho Naa Pyaar Hain. The actor in his forties proved yet again why he is the heartthrob of millions. Well choreographed dance steps and his moves made the audience fall in love again with the hottest dude of Tinsel town.


The other performance which received similar applause was the one by Anushka Sharma. And as was expected, the moment she came on stage, the audience could be heard shouting out “Virat, Virat”.


The bad weather however was the reason for the cancellation of the laser show which was scheduled for the opening ceremony. About half an hour of the program was also cut so as to complete the show quickly due to the fluctuations in the weather.


With IPL kick starting with such pomp and show, we can all hope that the two month long tournament will give us enough moments of thrills and excitement.

Priyanka Dutta

Our Twitter Handle: @Sholoana1
Google+ ID: +Sholoana

State Bank Park Sarbojanin Durgotsav, Thakurpukur Panchanantala Adjudged Winner of “Rhythm Dhaker Ladai 2014”


In its eleventh year ‘Rhythm Dhaker Ladai 2014’, the battle of Dhakis organized by Cycle Pure Agarbattis concluded with much fanfare. State Bank Park Sarbojanin Durgostav, Thakurpukur Panchanantala emerged winner of “Rhythm Dhaker Ladai 2014”, while Suruchi Sangha and Barisha Club were adjudged the runners up. Rhythm Dhaker Ladai also recognized the best individual performers and dhaki Kalipada Das from Suruchi Sangha was awarded the ‘Badak Srestha’ title while Animesh Bayen from Barisha Club was named the ‘Sera Sangat’.


18 Puja pandals were selected out of 45 pandals for the semifinal round by the judges’ panel on Shasthi. In the semifinal round, on Saptami three judging units comprising eminent personalities like Shri Nondon Bagchi, Smt. Manashi Mukherjee and Smt. Chandrabali Rudra Dutta visited the nominated pandals to select the best six performing Dhaki groups for the Mega Final.

Among the finalists were State Bank Park Sarbojanin Durgotsav, Thakurpukur Panchanantala, Suruchi Sangha, Barisha Club, Dum Dum Park Tarun Sangha, Sanghathirtha & Tridhara Akalbodhan.


The final of this event was held on Maha Astamee and the final judging panel constituted of renowned Indian classical singer, Pt. Ajoy Chakraborty, Tabla maestro, Pt. Mallar Ghosh and Subhen Chatterjee, who visited the six finalist pandals all day through and adjudged State Bank Park Sarbojanin Durgostav, Thakurpukur Panchanantala as the winner of “Rhythm Dhaker Ladai 2014”.

The names of the winners were declared on Maha Navami day. Apart from the ‘Rhythm Dhaker Ladai’, trophies for the Dhakis and Puja Committees, the winners were also presented with cash prizes.

Priyanka Dutta

Watch Interesting Videos from Tollywood and Bollywood with us at: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC2nKhJo7Qd_riZIKxRO_RoA
Our Twitter Handle is: @Sholoana1