Tag: business-leadership

‘Social Entrepreneur of the Year’ India 2014 Awards Announced; Calls for Entries

Jubilant Bhartia Foundation and Schwab Foundation for Social Entrepreneurship are pleased to announce the opening of entries for the much coveted ‘Social Entrepreneur of the Year'(SEOY) India 2014 Awards. The applicants are evaluated on key parameters of innovation, sustainability, reach and social impact. The applications will be accepted till May 31, 2014. Finalists will be selected following an intensive search and selection process, including expert reviews and site visits. The winner will be announced at a high-profile award event on 4thNovember 2014 in New Delhi.
Social Entrepreneurs are innovators, who implement practical and sustainable solutions to address challenges in numerous areas including health, education, environment, job creation and access to technology. Whether they are set up as for-profit entities, hybrid social ventures or not-for-profit organizations, their primary focus is transformational social change. Social entrepreneurs develop a revenue stream through the sale of products, services, fees or develop key partnerships to achieve sustainability. The award promotes social entrepreneurs in India by recognizing organizations that work to promote inclusive growth and contribute to bring change to society through their entrepreneurial vision.

The winners of the ‘Social Entrepreneur of the Year’ India 2014 Awards will join the global community of Schwab Foundation Social Entrepreneurs of the year 2014, and will participate in the relevant annual and regional meetings of the World Economic Forum, which provides unprecedented opportunities to engage with global decision makers from the public, corporate, media, academic, and civil society sectors.

Jubilant Bhartia Foundation joined hands with the Schwab Foundation in the year 2010 for the SEOY Award in India. The winner for Social Entrepreneur of the Year India 2013, Ms. Chetna Sinha of Mann Deshi Group of Ventures, was awarded by the Finance Minister of India, Shri P Chidambaram at a well-attended ceremony in New Delhi. The winners are selected by a prominent Jury consisting of Eminent Professionals from different walks of life.